

## PRESS RELEASE

-----

Press Release No. 780/2020

## A delegation of 16 organisations of BTR meets CM

**Dispur, November 22:** A delegation of 16 organizations of Bodoland Territorial Region under the banner 'Coordination Committee of BTR organizations' met Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal at the latter's official residence in Guwahati today. The delegation requested the Chief Minister for adequate measures by the State government to successfully hold the forthcoming BTR election. The delegation also urged the State government to take steps for ensuring free and fare poll in the BTR.

The Chief Minister assured the delegation that the State government would take all needful measures to ensure free & fair and peaceful election in the BTR. He said that the election to the BTR is aimed at expediting socio-economic development of the Bodo and all other communities living in the area. He appreciated that altogether 16 organizations of the BTR came together under one platform, which he termed as a good sign for democracy. He assured that the administration would remain neutral and serve in the interest of the people in the BTR election and informed that the law & order situation of the region has been regularly discussed.

Stating that the State government inspired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi's principle of 'sabka sath, sabka vikash, sabka viswas' has been striving hard to ensure equal development of all communities living in the BTR, the Chief Minister urged all to work together. He stated that the government has been taking all its decisions in the greater interest of the people and this approach would continue in future also.

MP Tapan Kumar Gogoi, Chairman of Assam Minorities Development Board Syed Mominul Awal, Chairman of DNP Limited Rupam Goswami were also present during the discussion. The coordination committee led by the President of All Bodo Students' Union included Presidents of BTR Gorkha Samaz, All Modahi Kachari Students' Union, All Assam Sarania Kachari Students' Union, All Assam Bengali Youth and Students' Federation, All Assam Minorities Students' Union, All Santhal Students' Union, All Kuruk Students' Union, All Rabha Students' Union, BTR Scheduled Caste Students' Union, Central Committee of All BTR Anusuchit Jati Parisad, Assam Odiya Chatra Parisat, All BTR Nath Yogi Students' Union, All BTC Sutradhar Sanmilani, All Hajong Students' Union and All Barman Mandai Students' Union.

BG/November 22, 2020.