JANASANYOG, ASSAM CHIEF MINISTER'S PUBLIC RELATIONS CELL, DISPUR

PRESS RELEASE

No. 196/2021

CM reviews functioning of APDCL, AEGCL & APGCL

Tea garden labourers and BPL consumers will not have to pay 20% power surcharge and they can pay arrears in 10 instalments

1600 posts in APDCL to be filled up soon: CM

Dispur, August 01: Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma today held a meeting with three power companies APDCL, AEGLC & APGCL and reviewed their functioning. The Chief Minister was apprised about reformative steps taken to improve the performance of the companies in the last few months.

Later talking to the media persons, the Chief Minister said that APDCL has performed well in revenue collection in the last few months. Referring to revenue earned by the power company in July last year which was Rs. 463.122 crore, the Chief Minister informed that this year July collection is Rs. 735.16 crore which is considerable increase from the previous year. He credited the dedicated efforts of the employees of APDCL for the jump in revenue collection.

He also informed that decision was taken in today's meeting for not imposing 20% surcharge in the power bills of tea garden labourers and BPL consumers, while also allowing these consumers to clear their unpaid power bills in 10 instalments. Chief Minister Dr. Sarma also said that Rs. 1719 crore has been sanctioned by the Central government to Assam under Saubhagya scheme and 4,80,249 new households would be provided power connection in the state with the amount.

48,557 Anganwadi centres and 13,321 LP Schools would be provided power connection within December this year, the Chief Minister informed. He also said that power bills of all government offices would be paid under one financial head by the government to APDCL by first of every month. Steps would also be taken to minimise revenue losses of nearly Rs. 102 crore every month due to power theft, transmission loss etc. Result of the exam held for filling up 1600 posts in APDCL would also be declared soon, he informed.

Power Minister Bimal Borah, Principal Secretary of Power Department Niraj Verma, MDs of three power companies and other senior officers were present in the meeting. Chief Secretary and Chairmen of the three power companies Jishnu Baruah attended the meeting virtually.

NKD/Swakkhyar/01.08.2021