

PRESS RELEASE

No. 203/2022

CM inaugurates Boko Solar Park

Govt. gives focus on renewable energy for speedy development: CM

Dispur, July 20: Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma today inaugurated 25 MW Boko Solar Park at Bhalukghata, Boko in Kamrup district, which was build under Build, Own, Operate (BOO) model as a part of Assam Solar Energy Policy, 2017.

This project is one of the four projects taken up under the Assam Solar Energy Policy, 2017. While the 25 MW Solar Park at Lalpul in Udalguri was inaugurated by the Chief Minister yesterday, other projects developed at Nagaon and Silchar are likely to be commissioned soon. Th Boko Solar Park is developed by Azure Power Pvt. Ltd. and the developer has committed supply of 5.70 Crore units annually. The entire power will be procured by APDCL at a fixed rate of Rs. 3.24 per unit for 25 years which will ultimately benefit the consumers.

Speaking on the occasion, Chief Minister Dr. Sarma said that the Solar Park would lead to enhanced solar power generation, employment opportunities, check environment degradation and overall augmentation of power generation capacity in the state. He informed that the State govt. is taking steps to establish solar projects in various locations to boost generation capacity and improve power supply.

The Chief Minister further said that the State government doesn't want to restrict the state power generation capacities only in conventional sources of energy and is giving adequate focus on renewable sources of energy for speedy development and to mitigate the results of environmental pollution.

Dr. Sarma also said that the Assam government would increase the number of beneficiaries for Orunodoi and add six thousand more beneficiaries in Boko constituency. The Chief Minister also appealed people to hoist National flag in their homes from 13 to 15 August to mark the celebration of 75 years of India's independence.

Power Minister Nandita Gorlosa, Environment & Forest Minister Chandra Mohan Patowary, Handloom & Textiles Minister U G Brahma, MLAs Nandita Das, Hemanga Thakuria, Suman Haripriya, Rekibuddin Ahmed, CEM of Rabha Hasong Autonomous Council Tankaswar Rabha and other dignitaries were also present in the programme.

PD/BG/July 20, 2022

/CMOfficeAssam f/cmofficeassam