

PRESS RELEASE

Press Release No. 273/2021

CM Dr. Sarma lays foundation of Jorhat Government Law College in Jorhat district State government to set up one college in each development block in the coming days: CM

Dispur, September 15: Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma during his visit to Jorhat laid the foundation of Jorhat Government Law College at Kaliapani in Jorhat district today.

It may be noted that the college will be set up with a budgetary outlay of Rs. 14.74 crore with a completion period of 24 months.

Speaking at the programme organised on the occasion, Chief Minister Dr. Sarma said that true to its commitment to develop the academic landscape of the state, his government has decided to set up law colleges at Dibrugarh, North Lakhimpur, Rangia, Dhubri, Diphu, Silchar, Tezpur, Nalbari and Nagaon. He also said that all the colleges will have all modern facilities to impart law education to the students of the state.

He also said that as against the involvement of private organisations in setting up and running law colleges in the past, the government is now taking steps to set up Government Law Colleges which according to him can provide quality law education to the students at comparatively low cost. He said that in the coming days, State government will set up many more law colleges across the state.

The Chief Minister also said that in the wake of National Education Policy 2020, State government has decided to implement the provisions of the policy across the state to bring about paradigm shift in the delivery of quality education in the state. He also said that as a part of NEP 2020, three thousand high schools in the state will be upgraded to senior secondary schools within 2022.

Dr. Sarma said that State Government would also increase the number of universities in the state and informed that the government has set a goal to establish one college in each development block to spread higher education among all sections of the youth of the state.

Education Minister Dr. Ranuj Pegu also spoke on the occasion. Revenue and Disaster Management Minister Jogen Mohan, MPs Tapan Kr. Gogoi and Kamakhya Prasad Tasa, MLA Renupoma Rajkhowa and former MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi were also present on the occasion.

BG/ 15, September 2021.