

## PRESS RELEASE

------

Press Release No. 45/2023

## Assam Governor confers Civilian Awards in presence of Chief Minister

**Dispur, March 24:** Assam Governor Gulab Chand Kataria today conferred Civilian Awards namely Assam Baibhav, Assam Saurav and Assam Gaurav on 21 personalities at a solemn function held at Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra here today in presence of Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma.

The awards were given to those personalities in recognition of their outstanding contributions in the field of health, art and culture, sports, science, agriculture, tourism, entrepreneurship etc. It may be noted that Assam Baibhav Award was presented to Dr. Tapan Kumar Saikia in recognition to his contribution in the field of Health Care (Cancer Care) and Public Service. Dr. Tapan Kumar Saikia is a renowned oncologist who hails from Naharkatia in Dibrugarh district. An alumnus of Assam Medical College, he started his career in Tata Memorial Hospital in 1981. He has served as Head of Medical Oncology and Research Director at Prince Aly Khan Hospital and is currently the Director of Oncology Science at Jaslok Hospital and Research Centre, Mumbai.

Assam Saurav Award was presented to five personalities. They are Krishna Roy for his contribution in the field of art and culture (mobile theatre), Gilbertson Sangma for his contribution in the field of sports (football), Nayan Moni Saikia for her contribution in the field of sports (lawn bowls), Dr. Binoy Kumar Saikia for his contribution in the field of science, Dr. Sashidhar Phukan for his role in the field of healthcare and public service. He is one among few healthcare specialists who had a major impact in improving healthcare in Majuli.

Moreover, Assam Gaurav was given to 15 personalities in recognition to their outstanding services. They are Dhritimala Deka for contribution in the field of public service. She has helped with more than 300 cremations to earn the moniker of 'Smashanbandhu'. She rendered exemplary service during the Covid pandemic. Second is Debajit Barman for his contribution in the field of agriculture and allied (Composite Farming). Third is Rustom Basumatary for his role in the field of tourism. Fourth is Manje La for his contribution in the field of Tourism (Agrotourism). Fifth is Binanda Hatibaruah for his contribution in the field of environment and forest. Sixth is Group Captain Atul Chandra Barua for his role in the field of social work. He set an example of compassion when he started the Bhavada Devi Memorial Philanthropic Trust in 2011 and opened 'Seneh', a home for abandoned, sick and oppressed old women in his plot at Kahilipara. Seventh is Kalyani Rajbongshi for her contribution in the field of Entrepreneur (SHG Worker). Eight is Sila Gowala for his contribution in the field of Public Service (ASHA Worker). Nineth is Dr. Jogesh Deuri for his contribution in the field of Agriculture and Allied (Sericulture). Tenth is Dr. Pankaj Lal Gogoi for his contribution in the field of Entrepreneur (Poultry). Eleventh is Sarbeswar Basumatary for his contribution in the field of Agriculture (Progressive Farmer). Twelfth is Manthang Hmar for his role in the field of Agriculture and Allied (Pineapple Farmer and Exporter). Thirteenth is Dr. Dhruba Jyoti Sarma for his role in the field of Agriculture and Allied (Horticulturist and Entrepreneur). Fourteenth is Dayal Goswami for his contribution in the field of

------



## PRESS RELEASE

ask Making and Mask Acting and the last is Dr. Dr. Sved Iftikar Ahmed for his contribution in t

Mask Making and Mask Acting and the last is Dr. Dr Syed Iftikar Ahmed for his contribution in the field of Anti-AIDS and anti-drugs campaigner.

The privileges of the awards include free medical treatment in Government Hospitals and stay in paying cabins wherever available, free accommodation in State Government Circuit Houses, Guest Houses and Assam Bhawans, regular invitations to official functions as distinguished guests, Rs. 2 lakh as medical expenses for treatment of critical diseases and free travel in ASTC buses provided a 24 hour prior information of journey is given.

On this occasion, a cultural programme was organised where in dances showcasing the colourful culture of Assam were performed.

Speaker Assam Legislative Assembly Biswajit Daimary, Council of Ministers, senior government officers and several distinguished personalities from different walks of life were present on the occasion.

SD/ March 24, 2023.